Brown County Commissioner and Sheriff candidates

Anderson and Veerkamp win primary race for Brown County Commissioner; It’s Seidl and Hohensee for Sheriff

Voters went to the polls on Tuesday, August 14, for unusually dramatic Minnesota Primary Elections. 

Local contests — Brown County Commissioner District 5 and Brown County Sheriff — no doubt were responsible for the higher-than-usual voter turnout for a Primary Election in Springfield and Brown County..

 Springfield had a good turnout for the Primary Election with 388 votes cast — more than five times as many as turned out for the 2016 Primary (69). 

Bashaw Township claimed the largest voter turnout in Brown County with 73 votes, compared to about a dozen that usually showed up for Primary Elections. 

Brown County Commis-sioner District 5 candidates Lynn Anderson, and Jeffrey Veerkamp won the Primary race.  Anderson, owner/operator of a regional trucking company that hauls agricultural commodities across Southwest Minnesota, received 471 votes (39.25%) of the vote.  Veerkamp, owner and operator of the Comfrey C-Store and farmer,  received 404 votes (33.67%) advancing to the November 6 General Election ballot.  Jack Vogel received 173 votes, and Derek Tonn 152 votes.

Brown County Sheriff candidates Jason Seidl and Jeffrey Hohensee will face off in the November 6 General Election. 


See complete story in this week's issue of the Springfield Advance-Press.

Springfield Advance-Press

13 S. Marshall Avenue PO Box 78 Springfield, MN 56087