Dennis Groebner wins commissioner post in Redwood County

Dennis Groebner of Clements was elected Redwood County’s Third District Commissioner during the May 5 special election.

Groebner received 264 votes, and Claire Meyers of Morgan received 241 votes.

Groebner is filling an open seat that was left vacant following the general election this past November.  After the winning candidate from that election declined the position, the county declared the seat vacant and then was required to conduct a special election.

Four candidates filed for the seat and a March 2 primary election narrowed the race to two. Groebner and Meyers received the most votes to advance to the May 5 special election in the district.

Groebner, who has lived in Redwood County’s third commissioner district his entire life, brings experience through a variety of skills as a business owner and community leader.

Groebner is expected to begin his duties as a county commissioner at the May 19 meeting.

Groebner now fills the remaining portion of the four-year term as the county commissioner for the third district, which continues through January 7, 2019. The third district includes the cities of Morgan and Clements and Brookville, Honner, Morgan, Paxton, Sherman, Sundown and Three Lakes  townships.

Springfield Advance-Press

13 S. Marshall Avenue PO Box 78 Springfield, MN 56087