Ramsey Beyer and Mike Rogotzke seek election to Board of Education

Voters in Springfield School District 85 will elect three members to the Springfield Board of Education during the November 6 General Election. 

Three seats for four-year terms are up for election this year for the Board of Education. They are presently held by Jeff Kretsch, Mandy Rasset and Charles Tews.  

There are four names on the school election ballot — two incumbents, Jeff Kretsch and Mandy Rasset;  and two newcomers — Ramsey Beyer and Michael (Mike) Rogotzke.

Kretsch was appointed to the school board in 2009 when Dr. M. L. Schmitz resigned and moved out of town; he was elected to two four-year terms in 2010 and 2014, and currently is serving as school district clerk. Rasset was elected in 2014 and is winding up her first term on the board.  Tews, who is chairman of the board, is winding up 16 years on the board, and is not seeking another term.

The Advance-Press has interviewed the two new candidates by providing a number of questions that they have answered for publication in this newspaper to help those seeking information to guide their decision.  A profile of Beyer and Rogotzke are followed by the questions and answers in this week's issue.

Springfield Advance-Press

13 S. Marshall Avenue PO Box 78 Springfield, MN 56087