Springfield Board of Education- seated from left Clerk Mandy Rasset, Chairman Jeff Kretsch, Treasurer Megan Quesenberry, Superintendent Keith Kottke. Back: Mike Vogel, Ramsey Beyer, Eric Schwarzrock, and Justin Roiger.

Public School Board annual reorganization

The annual reorganization of the Springfield School District 85 Board of Education was conducted during their first meeting of the year 2020 on the evening of January 8. 

Jeff Kretsch was reelected Chairman of the board. Mandy Rasset was reelected Clerk. Megan Quesenberry was reelected Treasurer. 

Board members were assigned to committees. There are 15 committees and each board member serves on multiple committees. 

The board voted to continue to hold their meetings on the second Wednesday of the month, except for the upcoming February meeting which will be held on the first Wednesday of the month. The meetings will be held monthly at 5:30 p.m. 

The upcoming dates for the meetings are Feb. 5, March 11, April 8, May 13, June 10, July 8, August 12, Sept. 9, Oct.14, Nov. 11 and Dec. 9. 

The board agreed not to increase their compensation for the coming year. 

The Springfield Advance Press was designated the district’s official newspaper .

The Farmers and Merchants State Back, Red Rock Bank and Minnesota School Districts Liquid Asset Fund were designated as depositories for school district investments. The local banks must bid within .25% of the liquid asset quote of they are to get the bid. 

In other actions the evening of Jan 8, the school board heard reports from the superintendents, principals, athletic director and committees; approved recommended fundraisers; and accepted and acknowledged gifts, donations, contributions or bequests. 

Springfield Advance-Press

13 S. Marshall Avenue PO Box 78 Springfield, MN 56087