Speech Team members participating in the Viking Tournament. Back (left to right): Lucas Milbrath, Joseph Jensen, Brady Anderson, Piper Wigton, Skyla Dauer. Middle (left to right): Cosette Klotz, Russell Beers, Bryn Gordon, Kade Nachreiner, Brenna Pabst, Layla Schwarzrock. Front (left to right): Kiera Lafferty, Alexis Clemon, Kendall Kelly, Meriah Kirschstein, KayLynn Sanderville, Sarah Kottke, Sydne Wahl.

Speech people are good people

On Saturday, February 8 the River Valley Speech team traveled to Minneota for the Vikings tournament.  

“It was an eventful bus ride. When the team was about 30 minutes away from their destination, they experienced bus trouble and needed to pull over. Another school bus recognized the distress and pulled over,” said  Assistant Coach Brianna M. Jensen. “Luckily, it was a bus full of speech kids from Worthington and they were also headed to the Minneota speech tournament. Without hesitation, their team moved back and made room for our speakers on their bus. It just goes to show that speech people are truly good people!”

River Valley had several students who were speaking for the very first time. Jensen said, “We are proud of all our speakers, as many had some great scores to celebrate, as well as some amazing ‘firsts.’” 

River Valley Speakers who received special recognition at the tournament were Senior, Meriah Kirschstein, who was first place champion in extemporaneous reading. Receiving second place runner-up status in poetry was junior, Kendall Kelly. Two freshmen, KayLynn Sanderville and Sarah Kottke, placed 4th and 6th in extemporaneous reading and drama, respectively. 

Speakers receiving ribbons for being one spot out of the top six were Alexis Clemon in poetry, Kiera Lafferty in prose, and Sydne Wahl in informative speaking. 

Overall, River Valley placed sixth out of seventeen teams competing.  

On Tuesday, February 11 the 7-9 grade members of the team will travel to Tracy for a junior high tournament. On Saturday, February 15 the team will travel to Luverne to compete. 

This year’s speech team is composed of twenty-five students from Springfield Public School.  This year’s coaching staff includes head coach, Darcy Hoyt, who is being assisted by Brianna Jensen and Gwen Thoreson.

Springfield Advance-Press

13 S. Marshall Avenue PO Box 78 Springfield, MN 56087