Front: Jackson Hillesheim, Paulina Gregg, Jillian Mays, Alexis Griffis, Matthew Groebner, Daveon Facile; Middle: Emma Sullivan, Kendall Kelly, Emmie McCone, Lilly McCone, Helen O’Callaghan, Violet Hovland, Marissa Pabst, Miranda Groebner, Layla Schwarzrock, Coach Danielle Weiss; Back: Coach Luke Amsden, Noah Vogel, Carter Hillesheim, Mavrick Winkelmann, Noah Richert, Mitchell Buerkle, James Coffland, Zak Hensch, Nick Peterson, Lucas Hensch, Ben Potter

Tiger girls team, Buerkle both claim championships at Tomahawk Conference

It was Tiger Tuesday as the Springfield-Cedar Mountain cross country teams took home some hardware at the Tomahawk Conference meet in Winthrop.

The girls team repeated as conference champions for the second year in a row, putting up 36 points and edging second place Gibbon-Fairfax-Winthrop by one point.  Sleepy Eye-St. Mary’s came in third with a score of 75 and Wabasso placed fourth with a score of 82.  The Tigers were placed by four top-10 finishers, including sophomore Lilly McCone who took fourth place in a time of 20:54, seventh grader Emmie McCone placed sixth in 21:54, senior Miranda Groebner came in eighth place in 22:16 and seventh grader Marissa Pabst placed ninth with a time of 22:41.

Coming in first place in the girl’s race was GFW’s Grace Feder in 20:07.  The McCones both earned All-Conference honors and Groebner and Pabst earned Honorable Mention.

For the boys, senior Mitchell Buerkle was individual champion in a time of 17:12, earning Tomahawk Conference Male Outstanding Runner.  Ben Potter earned All-Conference Honorable Mention honors by placing ninth with a time of 20:28.

With a score of 52, the Tiger boys placed third as a team, finishing behind Minnesota Valley Lutheran with a score of 38 and Sleepy Eye-St. Mary’s with 48.  Wabasso came in fourth with a score of 83.

Springfield Advance-Press

13 S. Marshall Avenue PO Box 78 Springfield, MN 56087